We're here to help with COVID-19 supports. Learn more.

Backgrounder: MPP Rickford announces signed agreements to improve high-speed internet access in the North

KENORA – Ontario has committed nearly $4 billion to bring high-speed internet access to every corner of the province by the end of 2025. The following internet service providers will help connect up to 92,029 unserved and underserved homes and businesses, including a number of communities across Northern Ontario. Municipalities, provincial funding, and the number of unserved and underserved homes and businesses are subject to change based on final agreements.

Project details:

Internet Service Provider (ISP)Municipalities to Benefit (Subject to Change Based on Final Agreements)Estimated Total Provincial FundingEstimated Number of Unserved and Underserved Homes / Businesses within Project Area
Bell CanadaAddington Highlands, Admaston/Bromley, Algonquin Highlands, Armour, Aurora, Bancroft, Beckwith, Belleville, Bonnechere Valley, Bracebridge, Brudenell, Lyndoch And Raglan, Burk’s Falls, Callander, Carleton Place, Carling, Carlow/Mayo, Central Frontenac, Centre Hastings, Conmee, Deseronto, Dorion, Drummond/North Elmsley, Dysart et al, East Gwillimbury, Faraday, Fauquier-Strickland, French River, Georgina, Gillies, Greater Madawaska, Greater Napanee, Hastings Highlands, Havelock-Belmont-Methuen, Highlands East, Horton, Huntsville, Iroquois Falls, Joly, Kenora, Killaloe, Hagarty and Richards, Killarney, King, Lake of Bays, Lanark Highlands, Limerick, Machar, Madawaska Valley, Madoc, Magnetawan, Marathon, Markham, Markstay-Warren, Marmora And Lake, Mcdougall, Mckellar, Mcmurrich/Monteith, McNab/Braeside, Minden Hills, Mississippi Mills, Muskoka Lakes, Neebing, Newmarket, Niagara Falls, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Nipigon, Nipissing, North Algona Wilberforce, North Frontenac, O’Connor, Oliver Paipoonge, Parry Sound, Perry, Powassan, Prince, Red Rock, Renfrew, Richmond Hill, Ryerson, Sault Ste. Marie, Schreiber, Seguin, Shuniah, Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls, South Frontenac, South River, St. Catharines, St. Charles, Stirling-Rawdon, Stone Mills, Strong, Sundridge, Terrace Bay, The Archipelago, Thorold, Thunder Bay, Timmins, Trent Lakes, Tudor And Cashel, Tweed, Tyendinaga, Vaughan, Welland, Whitchurch-Stouffville, Whitestone, Wollaston.$483.8 MillionUp to 82,632
Community Network PartnersAlberton, Atikokan, Blind River, Chapple, Coleman, Dawson, Dubreuilville, Elliot Lake, Emo, Fort Frances, Gauthier, Greenstone, Harley, Harris, Hilton, Hornepayne, Hudson, Huron Shores, James, Jocelyn, Johnson, Kerns, Kirkland Lake, La Vallee, Laird, Macdonald, Meredith and Aberdeen Additional, Matachewan, Morley, Nipigon, Plummer Additional, Rainy River, Spanish, St. Joseph, Tarbutt, Temiskaming Shores, The North Shore, Thessalon, Wawa, White River.$150.2 MillionUp to 9,397